flying high

Flight comparison sites abound these days, and they are jolly useful for comparing and finding flights. My favourite has to be skyscanner.net, but the other day I decided to try fluge.de, one we have used once before and is well known here in Germany. The flight I picked was a BA flight to Heathrow from Frankfurt, for 3 people. The BA site was having issues, so I decided to carry on and book via fluge.de as the price is the same.
Only it isn´t. From a starting price the same, all these add-ons came along, cancellation insurance at 19€ per person – highly recommended, travel insurance at a similar cost. I did not think I chose much or anything extra, but somehow things kept adding up. Then at the end, just as I was about to pay, they slapped on a service fee out of nowhere, that was impossible to get rid of. So now my flight that should have been around 500€ for the 3 of us, was suddenly at 735€!
I abandoned the booking quickly. Fortunately the BA site was now working again, and so I could book the same flight, for a hand luggage only rate – that is new, well done BA – which saved €20 per person on top. At the end, no extras at all, but still the ability to change my ticket if I want for €50 plus difference in fare, I got those same 3 tickets for 501€.
Hmm, I for one will not be using fluge.de again.
Interestingly my husband found the following youtube video today, which is in German, but highlights the hidden costs of booking via comparison sites.

