losing a child

The news of the Korean ferry disaster really struck me. On board was a party of teenagers on a school outing. Teenagers who had their whole lives ahead of them, excited about a trip out.

How many are missing? more than 200 people, missing, dead. They died following instructions, to stay on board, to not evacuate

How easily could this happen to one of my children? It is funny, my girls complain that I worry too much about them when they are out, and in fact we had a conversation about just that today. I try not to, I do trust them, but it is more a case of what else could happen.

That said, if some thing was to happen, there is not a lot I can do. I need to trust them to the world, and wait for them to get home. For those Korean parents, those chilldren will never come home, yet there was nothing they could do to protect them, or save them. This is life. Death is a part of life, but it is one of the hardest things when a parent has to bury a child.

my heart goes out to the parents of those children

