Being a chicken

I have always fancied a touch of the good life with a few chickens and maybe a goat or two in the back garden. I have never lived anywhere practical enough really. Probably our current place comes the closest, but as we only rent, it is still not really on the cards.
However this afternoon we went to a local craft market, and there was a small exhibition of chickens from the local chicken keeping society.

I always thought of chickens as brown speckled hens to be honest, but here they were showing lovely unusual specimens, silks and bantams. They were so pretty. It has made me desire some chickens one day even more.
For now I will make do with collecting some pictures like these below:

image

aren´t they just gorgous? Look at those feet. They are so full of character.

image

The markings on this are super. This was one at the show with those dark edged feathers, brilliant.

image

and this is a chicken equivalent of our cat Kitty. Not sure how it sees out actually.

I also found a super blog post of designer coops to keep those chickens in. It is very difficult to choose which is my favourite to be honest, but I suspect if I ever get as far as getting chickens, the choice of coop will be whatever is available. Click on the link below the picture below for a link to the post.

image


http://thelittlehenhouse.com/2011/01/05/wordless-wednesday-the-literal-hen-house/

