Giving

There is a man at the station every morning, kneeling on the ground,
He has a cup and a picture of a baby,
And he is waiting for someone to look his way.
The people all stream past him every morning,
Some will give a coin or two,
But the rest will look the other way.

There is a man at the station every lunch time, still there kneeling on the ground,
He has a cup and a picture of a baby,
And he is waiting for someone to look his way.
The people all stream past him every lunch time,
Some will give a coin or two,
But the rest will look the other way.

There is a man at the station every evening, still kneeling on the ground,
He has a cup and a picture of a baby,
And he is waiting for someone to look his way.
The people all stream past him every evening,
Some will give a coin or two,
But the rest will look the other way.

I have spoken to the man at the station, the one kneeling on the ground.
He cannot understand the words I speak to him, and I cannot understand him.
I have given him a coin every morning
Hoping that he really is for real
That there really is a baby,
And he is not being used by a gang.
One lunch time I gave him a banana,
And wondered at his plight.
To be kneeling every day must be back breaking
Especially when it is from morning to night.

This week there is no man at the station
I do not know where he has gone.
Perhaps he moved on to somewhere nicer;
Where not so many people look the other way.
Maybe he got arrested or attacked.
Maybe he was being run by a gang, who moved him on to another town.
Maybe there is a baby, and she is sick and needs his help
I will never know what happened, for even if he comes back one day
He cannot speak my language, and I cannot speak his.
All I can do is give him a coin, and hope that he makes it through the day.

I wrote this poem in response to a post I saw on another blog, about how there is so much need in the world today it can be hard to know where we can help, and how. I do feel it is overwhelming indeed, and we cannot help all, but we can each help somebody even if only in a small way. We should never lose sight of our humanity, and the humanity in every person and every situation.

