Upgraded

It is Sunday and my seminar week is over. I have decided to stay on a week in Shenzhen and Hong Kong. So this morning I could actually have a lie in, although ironically enough I woke naturally at 7am here. My jetlag is finally fading.
But anyhow, I went back to sleep, and arose at 10, took a coffee and cold breakfast before they finished serving it, and packed my case. I have decided that I have way too many clothes with me.

I checked out and asked for a taxi. The girl asked where to?
Challenge number 1, the crowne plaza confirmation was only in English, she did not understand it. So I suggested she call the hotel for the address, which she did.
Challenge number 2 is getting a taxi to agree to take me. Now taxis have been proving problematic all week. They will not do short trips, many colleagues have had issues, and if you use Uber, then apparently the driving is really scary. The girl had to call 3 taxi companies before she found one who would agree to take me.
Crazy! Nice they can be so choosy. Maybe this is why in the West we have legislation that means a cab cannot refuse a fare on grounds of distance.
Plus the trip was not short, it took around 25 minutes to get downtown, with no traffic jams. That is a good fare I would have thought.
Anyway I got my ride, and have transferred to a world of luxury.
From the moment the concierge opened the cab door for me and took the luggage this has been luxury. I even got a room upgrade, plus gmail works on the WiFi. Maybe I will try Facebook next. Here in China, such sites are very difficult to access.

image

And here are some pictures of my room.

image

image

image

image

I think I will enjoy it here. Next stop is the Spa and pool on the 4th floor.

3 thoughts on “Upgraded

Comments are closed.