Another walk in the park

Thursday morning I rose early with the plan to visit the big Buddha on landau island. It is very easy from central station. However, when I got to the station, there was a notice saying that the cable car was closed until Saturday. I decided to go anyway and see, and when I got there I discovered that there was a large outlet shopping mall called citygate right at the station. Outlet shopping for top brands with extra buses laid on for visitors from mainland China. What is it about Asians and shopping? Maybe for another blog post.

Anyway there were buses up to the village near the Buddha, but by this point I had purchased a new piece of hand luggage 😉 and I had really wanted to take the cable car. So I left it for another visit. I will have to return to Hong Kong. 🙂

So in the afternoon, after depositing my purchase in my hotel, I decided to head to Causeway bay. It sounds so picturesque. Victoria park is there, and with me thinking that it would be similar to the park in Shenzhen, I was looking forward to an escape from the crowds.
I was wrong on many levels. Causeway bay is full of, you can guess……, yes, shops. They even had a Habitat and IKEA.

image

The park was close by. It was not so idyllic. Guys were racing remote control boats on a small lake

There was a lunar fun park set up for Chinese new year, and roads round all sides.

image

However I did manage to find a bench and spent some minutes listening to the birds over the sound of the traffic.

image

Disappointed with the lack of a bay, I decided to get back on the metro and head further up the line. Being a metro, it was of course underground, so I had no idea of the scenery. It was also standing room only. So I stayed on until I had got a seat and the crowds had cleared and then picked a random name.
When I emerged from the depths, I was in a fairly normal residential area, with high rise flats and laundry hanging on balconies.

There was a sign though, to a promenade, and look what I found at the end of the street.

image

image

image

Now that was more like it. I loved the smell of the sea. It makes me feel so good. I walked the promenade, looked at the boats old and new, and returned to the metro station, or maybe it was even another. No matter, there is only one line. 🙂

