sailing away

my last day in Hong Kong was yesterday. I had a day to kill before my incredibly late flight, and exceedingly sore feet from all that walking the day before.

My top tip for you if you are planning a trip with lots of sightseeing – wear decent walking shoes.

So anyway I needed a rest day yesterday, so after dropping my case at the in town check in – brilliant idea by the way, at central or Kowloon station, i put my hand luggage in left luggage and decided to spend the day sailing. Very easy on the feet.

DSC03245

this is the boat. A very chinese looking craft, but with an engine 🙂

The trip was a sail to Stanley which used to be a British Garrison, a couple of hours there, and then a sail back. Easy, especially with these lovely loungers on board:

DSC03246

plus a free drink for everybody.

here are some of the views:

DSC03243

the fun fair, central district where we set off from.

DSC03252

from a bit further, with Victoria peak in the background

DSC03261

heavy shipping, which cause quite a bit of swell

DSC03268

DSC03271

try and imagine how many people live in these buildings.

DSC03272

or in these

DSC03275

a quiet spot

DSC03291

approaching Stanley

DSC03282

a temple at Stanley, incense burning outside

DSC03283

the view out from Stanley to our boat moored nearby

I had a super lunch here, at a place called the pickled pelican, which was a pub with a Chinese theme, and they had a really good menu, including pumpkin and quinoa salad with cranberries and goats cheese! perfect if you are coeliac like me.

DSC03287

view from inside the pickled pelican

img_20160206_142610.jpg

inside the pickled pelican

So all in all, it was a good day. Just the rest day i needed. That would be my next top tip – always plan in a rest day. 🙂

