One hit wonder

img_20160912_220506.jpg

I picked up this book at our Church booksale recently. It is from 2001, but as my blog readers know, finding current books is not something I tend to be so good at. This is the first time I have read a book from Lisa Jewell, but I must say it will not be the last. In the blurb on the back of the book it promises to keep you up all night – it did. I got up around 2am, just to finish it. I never usually miss sleep because of a book, so that tells you it is a good book.

The book is about a family, with an overbearing mother, 2 husbands, 2 very different daughters, and friendship. The oldest daughter had left home young, having become a pop star overnight, leaving her much younger half sister behind and never being able to get a relationship back with her, well not until the older sister is found dead, and the younger sister comes up to London to find out more about her life, her friends, her missing cat, and the mysteries in her life, and why she died.

It is a story of misunderstandings, regrets and missed opportunities as well as new opportunities, of growing up and growing old. It is one of those books to lose yourself in, and to think about afterwards.

I loved it – and will be definately looking for more by this author.

